Archive News - January 2019

16th January 2019

Nearly four hundered players to contest UK Qualifying School 

Lakeside champion Glen Durrant is among the 397 players that have entered the 2019 PDC UK Qualifying School taking place at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan from 17th-20th January. Also included in the large field of entries is three-time world champion John Part, former PDC World Championship finalists Andy Hamilton and Kirk Shepherd as well as previous PDC tour winners, leading BDO players and some of the worlds top female players. Further info here. 

18th January 2019

Cross to face Peter Wright in Premier League opener in Newcastle 

Rob Cross will play Peter Wright on the night one of the 2019 Unibet Premier League when it gets underway at the Metro Radio Arena in Newcastle on Thursday 7th February. James Wade will be Cross' opponent on night two at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow a week later. Then it's Michael van Gerwen on night three in Dublin. Details of all the fixtures for the opening nine weeks of competition can be found here. 

20th January 2019

Nineteen players win tour cards at UK Qualifying School 

Harry Ward, Jamie Hughes, Scott Baker, Mark McGeeney, Reece Robinson, Matt Clark, Kirk Shepherd, Nathan Derry, Jonathan Worsley, Carl Wilkinson, Glen Durrant, Gavin Carlin, Joe Murnan, Adrian Gray,  Andy Boulton, Jamie Bain, David Pallett, Conan Whitehead and Barrie Bates have won tour cards at the UK Qualifying School. More info here. 

21st January 2019

Full list of Tour Card holders for 2019 revealed 

Following the conclusion of the UK Qualifying School at the weekend, the full roster of tour card holders is now known. More information and the full list of the 128 players is here. 

21st January 2019

Van Gerwen wins two PDC awards at the Dorchester Hotel in London 

Michael van Gerwen was among the winners at the annual PDC awards held tonight at the Dorchester Hotel in London. The current world champion and world number one picked up the PDC Player of the Year for the fourth year in a row and the ProTour Player of the Year. Other winners included Gary Anderson (Fans' Player of the Year), Michael Smith (Players' Player of the Year), Daryl Gurney (Best Televised Performance), Max Hopp (PDC Young Player of the Year) and Luke Humphries (Best Newcomer). More info here. 

23rd January 2019

Gerwyn Price receives fine and suspended sentence from DRA

Gerwyn Price has received a £21,500 fine and a three month ban (suspended for a period of six months) from the Darts Regulation Authority due to gamsmanship in matches against Simon Whitlock and Gary Anderson in the bwin Grand Slam of Darts in November as well as inappropriate posts on social media. Anderson has received a formal warning for pushing Price in a non-aggresive manor. Price and Anderson have 14 days to appeal the decision of the Tribunal. More info here. 

25th January 2019

2018 Challenge Tour players added to Ladbrokes UK Open field

As per a change in the playing format announced last September a total of sixteen players from last year's Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit have been invited to compete in this year's Ladbrokes UK Open Finals in Minehead in March. They are: Cody Harris, Cameron Menzies, Martin Atkins (Wigan), Dennis Nilsson, David Evans, Simon Preston, Adam Huckvale, Michael Rasztovits, Jason Cullen, Diogo Portela, Jarred Cole, Mark Frost, Matthew Dennant, Darren Beveridge, John Davey and Lee Budgen. They will join the 2019 tour card holders and sixteen Rileys Amateur Qualifiers bringing the field to 160 players. More info here. 

25th January 2019

James Wade switches to Nevada Sports

Former world number two James Wade is now managed by Nevada Sports, the management team of 2018 William Hill World Champion, Rob Cross, 2014 BDO World Champion Stephen Bunting, Ricky Evans and David Pallett. Following the announcemt today, last year's Unibet European Championship winner has vowed to "turn over a new leaf" as he hopes to take his major wins into double figures. He said "I made strides last year by winning two more titles. I can win more". More info here.

>>>>> February 2019 <<<<<