2018 Coral UK Open - Qualifier 1 

Friday 2nd February 2018

Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan

The first of the six UK Open Qualifiers at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan didn't go well for Rob Cross. After a sleepless night travelling across the Irish sea by boat from Dublin following his debut apperance in the Unibet Premier League the previous evening things didn't look good from the outset. Also a tough draw saw him paired against 2016 PDC World Youth Champion, Corey Cadby.


Last 128 (vs Corey Cadby)

Cross took on Cadby in his opening match and made a solid start by winning the opening leg in 13 darts, taking out double eighteen. Cadby levelled in 15 darts with an 82 finish then Cross went 2-1 up, missing a dart at double eighteen and hitting double nine in a 14 dart leg. 'Voltage' had three darts to go 3-1 up but was unable to finish from 40 as the Australian youngster took out 58 in three darts to level in 21 darts. Four more missed darts at doubles in the next leg from Cross allowed Cadby to break throw with a 70 finish in an eighteen dart leg to lead 3-2. From there there was no looking back for the Aussie as he won the last three legs in 14, 13 and 14 darts to record a 6-2 win in his first PDC Pro Tour event since winning his tour card at the same venue two weeks ago. Cross' only chance in those last three legs was a poke at the bull for a 118 finish in the penultimate leg. Both players his two 180's, Cross averaged 95.66, Cadby averaged 97.26.


Cadby went on to beat Eddie Dootson 6-3 and was then defeated by Simon Whitlock 6-5 in the last 32.


World number one Michael van Gerwen beat Michael Smith 6-3 in a top class final, in one of the legs he finished 120 with 20, bull, bull and also checked out on 170 in the match winning leg. MvG averaged 105.50 and Smith averaged 107.69. MvG recorded 100+ averages in every round, his best was 109.94 against William O'Connor in the last 64.


Last 16 Results
Michael Smith 6-3 Martin Schindler
Kyle Anderson 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Peter Wright 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Robert Owen
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Jose Antonio Justicia Perales 6-1 Dave Prins
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Steve Beaton
Quarter-Final Results
Michael Smith 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Peter Wright 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Daryl Gurney
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Jose Antonio Justicia Perales
Semi-Final Results
Michael Smith 6-3 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Michael Smith