2018 Players Championship 5 

Saturday 17th March 2018

Stadium MK, Milton Keynes

Rob Cross put in a disappointing performance in Players Championship 5 at Stadium MK in Milton Keynes as Luke Woodhouse came from 5-2 down to beat the world champion 6-5 in the opening round. This was only the third time in the twenty-seven Players Championship events that Cross has competed in that he has lost in the opening round. The other two were last year, both 6-4 losses in Barnsley, Players Championship 1 against Alan Norris and Players Championship 7 against Ronny Huybrechts. 


Last 128 (vs Luke Woodhouse)

Luke Woodhouse won the opener with a 78 finish for a 15 dart hold of throw. Cross levelled in 19 darts and then took out 68 in a 14 dart leg that started with a maximum to go 2-1 up. A 16 dart leg followed from Cross then Woodhouse produced the best leg of the match, an 11 darter with scores of 180, 140, 140 and a 41 checkout. Cross then won the next two legs in 15 darts to lead 5-2. Woodhouse fought back with two 14 dart legs. Cross failed to record a three figure score in the tenth leg as Woodhouse won it in 18 darts by checking out on 62 to square the match at five apiece. Woodhouse opened up the last leg with scores of 139, 140 and 100 as Cross hit 100, 43 and 41. This left Woodhouse on 122 and Cross on 317. Woodhouse fired in a score of 90 to leave 32, Cross hit 96 to leave 221. Woodhouse then took two further darts to close out the match with a 14 darter. Cross hit three 180s and averaged 91.95. Woodhouse hit four 180s and averaged 98.50.


Woodhouse went on to lose 6-4 to Alan Tabern in the next round.


Michael van Gerwen hit a 160 finish in the final as he beat Chris Dobey 6-2, despite a 109.62 average from Dobey. MvG who claimed his third Players Championship title of the year averaged 99.58.


Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Gary Anderson 6-2 Cameron Menzies
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Terry Jenkins
James Wade 6-4 Wayne Jones
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Chris Dobey 6-4 Stephen Burton
William O'Connor 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Ryan Searle 6-1 Alan Tabern
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Gary Anderson
James Wade 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Chris Dobey 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Ryan Searle 6-3 William O'Connor
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 James Wade
Chris Dobey 6-5 Ryan Searle
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Chris Dobey